Recipients of Early Career Prizes of the SCES 2013 Conference 

Coles Prize
Bum Joon Kim (Argonne National Laboratory)

For seminal contributions to the discovery and experimental study of an unconventional Mott insulating state induced by relativistic spin-orbit coupling in the transition metal oxide Sr2IrO4.

Mott Prize
Emanuel Gull (University of Michigan)

For the development and implementation of the Continuous-Time Auxiliary Field Quantum Monte Carlo Method, and for its use in elucidating the pseudogap and superconductivity in the Hubbard model.

Coqblin Prize
Elisa M. Baggio Saitovitch (Brazilian Center for Physics Research)

For dedication to promoting the study of strongly correlated electron materials and phenomena in South American countries, especially Brazil.




Early career prize of the SCES

We are pleased to announce the establishment of the SCES early career prizes, which will be awarded starting with SCES 2013, Tokyo. The scheme of the prizes is summarized as below.


The chairperson of the selection committee is Prof. Yunkyu Bang, the organizer of the SCES section of the ICM 2012.
Selection committee:

  • Yunkyu Bang (chair)
  • Hilbert v. Löhneysen
  • Peter S. Riseborough
  • Setsuko Tajima
  • Joe D. Thompson
  • Kazuo Ueda (cochair)


Nominations, no more than two pages in length, should explain the importance of the work upon which the nomination is based, state explicitly the prize for which the candidate is being nominated, and include the date of the candidate’s PhD. The nomination together with supporting materials, for example, a one-page CV of the candidate and one or two papers related to the nomination, should be sent to the chair of the selection committee: Prof. Yunkyu Bang. The deadline for nominations is March 31, 2013.



  1. Every year, in the SCES conference or in the SCES section of ICM, early career prize(s) will be awarded.
  2. There are three categories of SCES early career prizes.
    1. Nevill F. Mott prize
    2. Bryan R. Coles prize
    3. Bernard Coqblin prize
  3. The award should be given to early career scientists, where early is defined as no more than 8 years of active research past PhD.
  4. Qualifications for each prize:
    1. Nevill F. Mott prize – for a person who has made distinguished contributions to the theory of strongly correlated electron systems.
    2. Bryan R. Coles prize – for a person who has made significant contributions to the experimental study or discovery of strongly correlated electron materials and phenomena.
    3. Bernard Coqblin prize – for a person who has made significant contributions to the physics of strongly correlated electron systems achieved in a country where the field of SCES is not well established or who has made significant contributions to establish vigorous activity of SCES research in such a country. In the latter case, the early career status of prospective recipient is not a necessary condition.
  5. Every year, the recipient(s) will be determined by the selection committee for the early career prizes of the SCES conference. The position of chair of the selection committee will be held by the chair of the IAC, and the co-chair of the selection committee will be the chair of the SCES conference of that year. Other members of the selection committee will be appointed by the chair and co-chair.
  6. The number of prize(s) can vary from one to three each year.
  7. Each prize carries a monetary award of 2000 Euro or equivalent. Taylor & Francis sponsors up to two prizes each year. The winner of a prize sponsored by Taylor & Francis is expected to contribute an article related to their award-winning research to Philosophical Magazine.